The Alice information

Found on the site of the former Barracuda bar, The Alice is a buzzing bar in the heart of the City. With an extensive cocktail list and a reasonably priced food menu of British dishes, The Alice is ideal for a working lunch or a night out with friends.

Ranked #419 of 5241 restaurants in London

Is this venue information incorrect? Help us get it right!

improve this listing

Do you work at The Alice?

Claim your free listing to take control. Add offers, images, event info and more for free!

claim here
Opening Hours
Opening Hours

09:00 - 23:00


09:00 - 23:00


09:00 - 23:00


09:00 - 23:00


09:00 - 23:00





show more

What did you think of The Alice?

your rating

The Alice reviews

By Christine M.

A great Bar/Pub

Nice place for a quick drink. Staff were friendly, and good choice of drinks. We only popped in for a quick drink, but great first impression. Nice seating, plenty of space.

By M L.

We waited for 1 hour, chips weren't cooked, food wasn't so good. Not acceptable for lunch time!

By Charlotte J.

Since I started working around the corner from this venue around a year ago myself and my colleagues have been in on several occasions. The value in this bar is great - the food is top notch as is the service. It does get really busy on a Friday lunch so the wait is slightly longer than usual - will certainly be back!

By Alice B.

From Elena, Sales Manager. This issue has been sorted out and customer was offered and excepted complimentary drinks. Just as well as his colleague was never charged twice as first transaction was showing void, this was sorted out as well. "Elena Ok thanks , that is how this should have been dealt with at the time . I will be in touch next week to arrange a date. Alastair"

By Alastair J.

We had a nice a good lunch time meal and drink spoiled when I got the bill and found it covered about three tables . Anyone with any brain could see it was not my bill as it included too many different drinks and loads of food. Politly told them it was not my bill , they told me it was again and again . Eventually after striking out extra items it was rung up again . Still extra items on bill . ( They never make a mistake in the customers favour do they ?) Big argument , 20 mins wasted , correct bill paid . No apology or offer of a free drink for monumental bill screw up. Someone else in our party had there debit card hit twice for his bill. Starting too look like policy here. Go by all means put check your bill !

By Alice B.

Dear mealhunter, you was booked via our Central Reservation office and we are sorry you didn't receive information that 25% off food doesn't apply on top of special £5 menu (already discounted). I am a Sales Manager at The Alice and as far as I know you have been offered solution for this misguidance already and are happy to use it. As for promotions, there are no tricks, the only thing is that you can't use discount on top of another discount/offer. And offers are pretty good: £5 meal all day, £9.95 for a bottle of Prosecco and £7.95 for a bottle of Pinot Grigio, not to mention 2-4-1 pizzas (3-10pm) and £4 cocktails 5-9pm. We hope you will come back with the offer given and have better experience at The Alice. Sales Manager, Elena Leslie.

By David P.

I was offered 25% off my bill promotion. I was first called by a member of staff and then emailed so i thought i would take them up on the offer so got a group of 10 people together. I got to 'the Alice' and had to hunt for a member of staff to find my reservation. We had to wait 10 minutes for a menu (keep in mind this is a lunch break). Food was good and warm considering there was 10 of us so can't complain there. Beer is a little over priced. Apon getting the bill, I asked for the 25% off to be taken off. I was then told that this doesn't include the £5 menu. There was no communication that the 25% off wasn't included in the £5 menu. I should have made more of a scene but I had 9 other guests with me that was also expecting the 25%. some of which I had to persuade to come due to being skint, so the 25% off seemed like a good deal. Use the bar's promotion at your own risk, but be warned you might be dissapointed.

By Terri C.

This is Terri, the new sales manager here at the Alchemist.I am so disappointed to read such a negative review, and I apologise on behalf of the venue for your experience here with us.When you get a spare moment, please will you drop me an email as I would like to discuss this further and hopefully amend the

By Kylie J.

I had arranged for some after work drinks in the alchemist for my girlfriends and I on a Thursday evening and what an evening it turned out to be. It started with some delicious 2 4 1 cocktails which we all mixed and matched between us, and ended up with us all dancing around our handbags. The bar has such a lovely layout, lovely staff, and lovely cocktails, and I can honestly say the atmosphere was great and made our night. Everyone seemed to be having a great time. Will be returning again and cannot wait!

By L T.

I had lunch with 5 of my friends at The Alchemist recently and was very happy with the service we received. We were seated and served efficiently. Considering it was a busy day and there were 6 of us, we all had our meals in front of us at within 10 minutes which was fantastic! i will definitely be visiting again.

By Laura W.

Just returned from lunch. As I walked through the door waitress who I had eye contact with turned and ran towards the toilets, waited around a minute for someone else to seat us. Then had to wait 15 mins for the waitress to ask for drinks. We ordered the food at the same time to SAVE time. WRONG. Drinks came 5 mins after but the food came 45 mins later when my lunch break was pretty much over. My friend received the wrong lunch but had it anyway as we were out of time. I however had to wait a further 5 mins for my lunch which I only had the time to eat half of. Waitress did give us a 25% discount on the final bill however upon checking the bill I was also charged for a large drink when I asked for a normal sized, not large glass! I have used this establishment on many occassions since it opened, it was terrible in the first few months, which I could understand as everyone was new however it did get better, the service was excellent and turnaround was pretty much perfect BUT it seems it has reverted to its old ways!

By Michael S.

6 months ago I would have given this bar a 5 star rating however the quality of the service and food has declined sharply and I have just experienced one of the worst lunches I have had in the City in the last 20 years. Having returned the substandard food twice in a row (which was initially served 20 mins later than my guest's food) and given up on reordering the management were generous enough to concede that we would not be charged for that particular inedible dish. They did however put up a spirited defence of their poor service and low quality food and offered absolutely no incentive to return. This was very foolish since I have hosted a least half a dozen parties there in the last 6 months for anything from 5 to 30 people and will not not be returning as a result of my experience to date.

By Nal J.

The venue was elegant and classy looking. Very comfortable seats and nice lighting. There was a good variety to choose from on the menu and all at very reasonable prices. The food looked and tasted really lovely. Also there is good service from the staff. I would go there again and would also recommend it to others.

By Michelle C.

A group of 5 of us went for lunch. The service was quick and we were all back at the office in good time - which is very rare in the city! The place looks lovely, is comfortable and also is affordable - at about £5/6 per main. I would recommend this place as it was excellent and the food was really nice too!

By Emma H.

Formerly known as Barracuda Bar and The Alchemist, this venue has been rebranded as The Alice and now offers a mix of cocktails, pizzas and burgers in comfortable surroundings.

The Venue
Set in the heart of the City, The Alice is simple to get to as it’s an easy two-minute walk from Aldgate tube or Bishopsgate. It's a large venue, with plenty of places to sit: booths and comfy sofa chairs are visible on entry and, in the main bar area, there are shared benches complete with retro stools and more lounge chairs. A long wooden bar takes up the whole of the far wall, so getting served shouldn’t be a problem, but there is also table service available. An open kitchen sits to the right of the bar and large lampshades hang from the ceiling, changing colour randomly. The décor is lavish; an eclectic mix of old meets new. One or two chandeliers also provide lighting and candles add to the ambience, making the place relaxed and welcoming.

The Atmosphere
The Alice is lively and thriving, but naturally given the location, it is predominantly a haunt for City folk looking to unwind with colleagues, so expect lots of suits. The venue is also perfect for work functions as it is big enough to accommodate large groups. The staff are friendly and attentive. It can get noisy, so if you are after a quiet meal or conversation, find a seat to the left of the bar or in one of the booths. The venue is open till 2am on Thursday and Friday nights, and available for private functions on Saturdays.

The Food
The food is tasty and reasonably priced with most dishes in the region of £6-£8. For starters the ciabatta with olive oil and balsamic vinegar is good as it just the right size to prepare you for your main meal. One of the best options out of the mains is the chicken pie with mash and garden peas as it's full of flavour and very filling. If this doesn’t take your fancy, you can choose from six stone-baked pizzas, which give Pizza Express a run for their money and include the goat’s cheese and red onion pizza, which is tasty and good value for money. There are also burgers, fish and chips and sandwiches on offer as well as a selection of desserts. The chocolate pots come in a seal proof container and are rich but delicious. You get value for money portion-wise but there isn’t much choice for vegetarians: the menu is quite meat-heavy.

The Drink
The Alice prides itself on its extensive cocktail menu, which range from £5-£7, with a 2-4-1 deal on offer everyday from 5pm-9pm. The usual selection is on offer as well as some unique options. The Long Island ice tea and the mojito might not trouble a quality cocktail bar, but there isn’t any skimping on the alcohol quantity. You can also choose from a large variety of wines, ranging from £15 to £40 a bottle and a good selection of bottle and draught beer. A bottle of the Etchart Malbec Rose at £15.25 is a fruity, undemanding option from the wine list.

The Last Word
A popular after work place that's tailor-made for City employees to have a comfortable drink or bite to eat with friends and colleagues, and perhaps even a dance later into the night.

Find a restaurant